My Hopes for 2014.

Why do we make resolutions on or around New Years Eve/Day every year? What is the motivating factor? Why do we all make the same ones?

Don’t believe me?

I want to lose ## pounds this year.
I want to eat healthier (or whatever is fad: low-fat, low-carb, vegetarian, gluten free).
I want to save more money.
I want to de-stress.

If you claim to have never or contemplated one of these, I might be skeptical.

I think at the end of a year we’re forced to examine the last 12 months, and sometimes we tend to focus on what wasn’t perfect, as opposed to what far exceeded our hopes and dreams. I won’t pretend that I don’t wish a single thing had been different about this year or the one before. I mean, I would love to be in a great relationship, living abroad or wondering why my pants just keep getting looser and looser. However, I refuse to let that distract me from what was possibly one of the best years of my life. Seriously! Let’s look at 2013:

-I ‘found myself’ during 12 months of intentionally remaining single, after dating guy after guy after guy (seriously like 16-17 in 2012, varying degrees of seriousness), and losing myself while trying to find validation in a relationship.
-I set foot in 9 countries outside of the ole U.S.A.
-I met over 80 of the most AMAZING people, a handful of whom I will love for  the rest of my life.
-I got a goddaughter!
-Went skydiving.
-Ran two half-marathons
-Tried more new foods than I can count.
-Learned to navigate public transit
-Lost 30 lbs.
-Saw a very toned down version of the Aurora Borealis
-Used powertools
and -Grew a garden.

Just like a person, though, I’m not satisfied. There are a few things that I would like to accomplish in 2014. I am intentionally trying to stay away from standard resolutions, because I don’t want a standard year. I want another earth-shaking, never the same, be telling these stories until I die kind of year. I also want them to be realistic and practical. Here’s what I’ve got:

-To improve my photo skills. I hate showing someone a photo I took of somewhere incredible and having to say, “This picture doesn’t even begin to do it justice… here let me Google some better pictures.”

-To spend (probably unwisely) way too much money on travel.

-To stop distancing myself from people. I am incredibly lazy with my friendships.

-To do more, go more, see more, try more STUFF. I teeter being a borderline shut-in and being so busy doing so much that I forget to breathe, but I want to be consistently active.

-To be able to be happy for people in my life when they get the things that I haven’t, instead of this horrible mixture of sort of happy for them while throwing myself a pity party.

and for fun:

-To master the art of cat eye makeup with liquid liner and, in doing so, that gorgeous, old Hollywood glam. (that one’s going to be tough)

Do you want to see your life change in 2014?  If you are a resolution maker, what did you resolve this year?

4 responses to “My Hopes for 2014.

  1. Love the cat eye make up! I watched too many u tube videos, tried it at home and always end up looking like someone hit me. Post picturesvwhen you get!

Leave a Reply

