Sparkly Things, Pharmacy, Street Food, Mozart and Last Night with Some Friends (Day 18)

Next morning in Vienna was a bit rocky. Remember how I said that we thought Brianne just had motion sickness? No. Turns out she picked up a bit of a stomach bug, which Daniela and I also shared. It was AWFUL. Not sure if this is too much information or not, but what I experienced was this barbaric, unrelenting nausea. I was never actually physically ill, but everywhere we went that day I was constantly running off to the restroom, just in case. I just kept thinking, ‘This is it. I’m finally going to puke and then maybe I’ll feel better!’ But no. Never.

We walked around Vienna and saw some really pretty stuff, the names of which I don’t remember because I was constantly keeping track of nearby waste bins. But here are some pretty pictures:

Something important I'm sure.

Something important I’m sure.

DSC00247

Pretty residential building.

Pretty residential building.

I LOVED the tiled roof on this!

I LOVED the tiled roof on this!

Lovely old church, mid restoration work.

Lovely old church, mid restoration work.

Modernist sculpture works...

Modernist sculpture works…

... that were intended to symbolize...

… that were intended to symbolize…

... the degradation of humans by their brothers during the Holocaust.

… the degradation of humans by their brothers during the Holocaust.

Then we were off to the 3 story Swarovski store in downtown Vienna. Everything was pretty and sparkly. I eventually went and sat outside. I was terrified that I was going to be sick all over some case full of thousands of dollars of jewelry. Tavis came out after a bit and I begged him to come with me to find an Apotheke or a Pharmacy. We eventually found one after wandering around in circles for a while. They gave me something called Nauseaheal. This terrible tasting liquid was to be taken every 45-60 minutes until the nausea was gone. This stuff was AMAZING. It literally saved the rest of my trip.

After that, I was feeling so much better that I actually had an appetite. We snagged a pizza at some street vender: may or may not have been one of the best I have ever eaten. We went back to Swarvoski, where I actually shopped this time. I spent way too many dollars on a pearl and crystal set, so that I would actually have some nice jewelry if I ever decided to dress up, and a set of fleur de lis earrings that made me think of home. Tavis, being the eternally good big brother, bought Tiana a necklace. She actually had to go to the hospital that day with a much worse version of our stomach bug.

After that we went into a book store so that I could buy some Kinderbücher, or children’s books. I’m using the books for translation tools in my study of the language. We wandered around and used a museum overhang to hide from the rain, learn offensive German phrases and take silly pictures.

DSC00261 DSC00263

When we left the plaza in downtown Vienna we went to the Original Schnapps factory and did some sampling… which I declined for fear of angering my tummy. I did hear very good things from everyone else though!

1000783_10151699906675569_32614527_n

Yummo!

The products as laid out by the young heir to the fortune.

The products as laid out by the young heir to the fortune.

Later this evening we were set to go to a fancy dinner and a Mozart concert at Schönbrunn Palace. It was so nice! Everyone got all decked out in their finery. Let me say, we had quite group of lookers that night:
image

image

The concert was really nice. They had a ballet incorporated into every second or third piece and a could of vocalists as well. It was very surreal to be in a palace in one of the great Imperial capitals for such a classic event. Easily one of the most memorable nights of the trip.

When we left the concert we went out to a club for our last night with Liam, Martha, Daniela, Katherine and the others who were not coming with us into the next city. At the club, there was a LARGE and in charge beat-boxer who was having his album release party and that meant GREATLY entertaining performances.

It was a night for shenanigans, dancing, lots of teary eyed hugs. I think we danced in that club until none of us could stand upright anymore. Candice unabashedly shoved some dude who kept trying to infiltrate out super exclusive dance circle and then proceeded to get him kicked out when he wouldn’t leave us alone. Liam also tried to sneak out, but was stopped short when Walking on Sunshine came on and he couldn’t resist one more dance… which turned into 15. It was the first night that I actually spent time out in the evening with my lovely roommate. Erin took off her heels and did the moonwalk. Lucian twirled me around the dance floor, like a proper Englishman.

Look at that bowtie!

Look at that bowtie!

awe!

awe!

Luce being Luce.

Luce being Luce.

Good looking bunch!

Good looking bunch!

My Lovely Roomie

My Lovely Roomie

Julian!

Julian!

Anne!

Anne!

Hanging in till last call!

Hanging in till last call!

Legs McGee got stuck in the front seat.

Legs McGee got stuck in the front seat.

The Cabby was INSANE. He drove to the hotel demolition-derby style. Daniela and I were squalling about how much we were going to be sick until Land Down Under by Men at Work came on. The driver let us blare it at full volume through its completion. What a good night. So let me leave you with some music from the night:

Leave a Reply

