G is for Good Golly this is Good Goulash

I made some yummy things this week. I want to share with you, tonight’s dinner.

While in Budapest, I bought a few different types of Hungarian paprika. Paprika is, more or less, a staple of Hungarian cuisine. The word is actually Hungarian (go figure) for pepper. Goulash is a specialty of the country that is widely popular in Albania, Austria, Germany, Italy, Kosovo and a bulk of the Slavic region. It is a stew made of beef, seasoned primarily with paprika, served on or with dumplings (bread or potato), rice, noodles or potatoes.

I found a traditional recipe, that I had to use Google Translate to convert from Hungarian. Here is the short version of it:

Veggie oil
onions
salt
pepper
paprika
stew beef
garlic
tomato paste or sauce

I added:
carrots
broccoli stem
celery
and mashed cauliflower

Browned the onions in the oil:

sizzzzzzzle!

sizzzzzzzle!

Remove onions from Dutch oven, leaving  remaining oil. Cube Beef, roll in spice mixture and brown in onion oil in the Dutch oven:

IMG_20130531_205310

I don’t love handling large pieces of raw meat. Don’t know why. Don’t care.

IMG_20130531_205325

Oooooo and we have the beginnings of a lovely sauce.

Add in chopped veggies, water and tomato sauce. I listed broccoli stem. Allow me to explain: If you take the broccoli stem and peel it THOROUGHLY, chop it and cook it, it is textured like potatoes, without the high carb content.

IMG_20130531_205343

Bit too soupy to be a stew. Good thing it still has about an hour and a half of simmering left to do.

Allow to cook until meat is tender (and also the veggies we snuck in). Prepare mashed potatoes. (I’m using mashed cauli)

IMG_20130531_205358

Quite simple to make: Chop cauliflower, boil it until softish, mash it. I added a touch of butter, salt, chives and garlic.

IMG_20130531_210946

Serve together, garnished with sour cream (not pictured).

I’m quite pleased with my dinner. I wish I had another person’s opinion to give you, but I’m dining solo this evening. I don’t like to be alone, to be honest, but I’m going to do my best to enjoy having the house to myself.

Tomorrow, I get to participate in fitness screenings for the FABULOUS athletes preparing to compete in the Special Olympics. I hope to have some photos to share with you after, but that all depends and how the day goes. I hope you are all enjoying your Friday night!

2 responses to “G is for Good Golly this is Good Goulash

  1. Ooo! THat sounds yummy! And healthy with the cauliflower instead of potatoes. I started my diet yesterday, and I’m not eating hardly any carbs now. Completely cut out bread and potatoes.

Leave a Reply

