Home Sweet Home

I’ve been back since late in the evening on the 21st of May.

I’ve been running around trying to get my mail gone through (not done yet) and my clothes washed(actually did that). I made time this weekend to get out in my garden. As I write this, I realized that I never did actually write about the raised beds that I built. So let’s make this a catch up post. I’m still jet lagged, so I’m going to work in bullet points:

1] I lost weight on vacation. Not even kidding. Down 2 pounds. Normally, I would be disappointed in a total of 2 lbs in 3 weeks. However, if you could see the amount of absolute crap I ate, you’d be surprised that I could button my pants by the end of the trip. So total loss is ~22lbs since January.

2] I’m working on a few posts about the trip, but be patient. Three weeks of holiday tends to blur together, so I’m using some writing tricks I learned in college to organize my thoughts. I think I’m going to split the posts into countries. I also have to wait for my tour mates to post their photos, so that I can steal them. I took my video camera thinking that it would be adequate for stills as well. No. My pictures suck. The camera was also cumbersome, so my pictures are also sparse.

3] Quick rundown of my garden bed, what I planted and what I’ve managed to kill so far:

4'x8'. Made them all by myself!

4’x8′. Made them all by myself!

Wagon ribs for greenhouse plastic and bird netting. Soil mixture: 1 part each vermiculite, manure and peat moss

Wagon ribs for greenhouse plastic and bird netting. Soil mixture: 1 part each vermiculite, manure and peat moss

East bed. Surviving  plants: Cauliflower, Arugula, Cucumbers,  Water melons, Wild Flowers. RIP: Cherry tomatoes, honey dews, and pumpkins

East bed. Surviving plants: Cauliflower, Arugula, Cucumbers, Water melons, Wild Flowers. RIP: Cherry tomatoes, honey dews, and pumpkins

West bed: Survivors: Beefsteak tomatoes, cucumbers, green pole beans, broccoli, onions, red peppers,chives, lettuce and kale. RIP first planted green beans.

West bed: Survivors: Beefsteak tomatoes, cucumbers, green pole beans, broccoli, onions, red peppers,chives, lettuce and kale. RIP first planted green beans.

4] I had to pull 18 maple saplings out of the beds this weekend… I left 2 in one of the vacant tomato cages, just in case anyone I know needs a tree. Seriously. I HATE maple trees now.

Howard missed me. He wasted no time getting into my bed and farting under my covers. I missed him so badly, I don’t even mind. I met so many incredible people. I’m so excited to share my adventures!

Welcome home, Sara Jo. Here’s a tune that made me feel less homesick while I was away:

 

 

 

 

 

One response to “Home Sweet Home

  1. Excellent post. Keep posting such kind of info on your blog.
    Im really impressed by your site.
    Hey there, You have done an excellent job. I’ll certainly digg it and in my opinion suggest to my friends. I’m sure
    they’ll be benefited from this website.

Leave a Reply

