Sweet and Savory: Veggies and Lentils Where You Wouldn’t Expect Them

Ladies and Gents,

I’m down another pound and a half this week! My total loss thus far is just shy of 7 1/2 lbs.

I am really quite pleased with the way these last several weeks have been going. My eating habits have been crazily better than the last time I did Weight Watchers. I’ve not been eating a bunch of those horrible freezer meals, full of preservatives,  meat byproduct and veg-scraps. I’ve been dabbling in vegetarian, gluten-free and just strange in general.

I feel good. I’ve been eating nearly all fresh cooked meals, with the exception of the occasional veggie burger. I have some yummo recipes for you this week:

First, from Kalyn’s Kitchen is this Twice Baked Cauliflower mess: just made of absolute tastiness. I did not put in the Parmesan  primarily because I have discovered that I don’t particularly care for it. Since I’ve never used cauliflower as a potato substitute before, I was unsure of how much stem to leave/remove. If anyone out there has some insight on that, feel free to share. (2 Points Plus per serving)

Second, I made these Black Bean Brownies from the Weight Watchers website. Unfortunately, I am an unobservant chef, so I added twice as much of an ingredient than what was called for, so I had to double the recipe. Instead of using 8 total eggs to make a freaking pan of brownies, I substituted a pureed banana and 2/3 cup of unsweetened, organic applesauce for the 4 extra eggs called for by doubling the recipe. It turned out more like a cake than brownies, but hey, I’ll throw some coconut pecan icing on it and call it German Chocolate. By the way, if you’re wondering, it is FABULOUS. (4 Points Plus per serving)

The sweetness is unique. When you first have a bite, you wonder if you forgot the sugar…ahhhh but then, as you proceed to chewing… its like a surprise sweet… and delicate instead of overpowering. I love it. mmm!

2 responses to “Sweet and Savory: Veggies and Lentils Where You Wouldn’t Expect Them

Leave a Reply

