Baked Parmesan Quinoa

Tonight, I made some new treats. I  have been having a big issue with blood sugar dropping and absolutely ravenous hunger, everyday, between 4:00 pm and 5:00 pm. I keep fruit at work for a snack and I’ve tried almonds recently, but I don’t feel like the problem is being dealt with. The only reason being so hungry at this time is such an issue is that it makes it really difficult to make the best decision for dinner.

I want something that is heavy enough to sit in my stomach until my usual dinner time of 6 or 7 pm. This is what I’m giving a try this week, a recipe shamelessly pilfered from Make It and Love It:

  • 2 1/2 cups of cooked quinoa
  • 3 stalks of green onion, sliced thin
  • 3 large eggs
  • 1 cup grated carrots
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1/3 cup fresh parsley, chopped
  • 3/4 cup parmesan cheese, plus extra to sprinkle on top
  • 3 Tbsp rice flour
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/4 tsp pepper
  • 1/4 tsp cayenne pepper

Combine all ingredients, and maybe it will look as pretty as it did on MakeIt/LoveIt, which is where I borrowed this picture:

IMG_7370-670x446

Press into a well-greased cupcake pan. I used a standard cupcake pan and a mini muffin pan, but I put a tablespoon into each well. Same amount for both pans. Bake at 350F* for 25-35 minutes.

Now, I like almost everything I eat to be a little more well done.. I like the crunchy chewiness that happens when stuff is a little more thoroughly cooked, so you can see that the full size bites are a bit more rare while the minis are a tad on the well side:

Quinoa

These are super yummy. If I could change anything, I would add only one clove of garlic instead of two. These are PACKED full of protein and flavor, and as a bonus, they are gluten-free! Weight Watchers followers…. these are only 1 pp a piece! Great snack!!

Leave a Reply

