[Bullet]proof

So today, being a very sleepy Saturday, was overflowing with creative productivity. I was really bored when I woke up…

… so I set about doing some finishing, tidying touches to my home. For the most part, I got my cleaning done on Wednesday, but, you know, there are always a few things that could be cleaner… In doing my little June Cleaver dance, I found some of the casings from the July 4th family gun range outing… Speaking of… I had never shot a handgun until July 4, 2011, and I must say, I don’t thing I did too badly! All of my shots came from a .357 magnum revolver using either .38 special rounds or .357 magnum rounds at +/- 25yds. Judge my skill level if you’d like, but I’m gonna say that it was a decent first time!

Anywho, back to the point at hand… I found the casings and decided that I would take a trip to the hardware store and gather whatever I thought I could make pretty and get to work! I purchased at Lowe’s Home Improvement some washers of varying sizes, some eyelet screws, chain, and some pliers…

With the bullet casings, I used my low-temp hot glue gun to fill each casing to just above the brim.

Then I used my pretty, pink X-acto knife to take the glue off, flush with rim…

I twisted the smallest eyelet screws I could find into the hardened glue and then arranged them symmetrically on a chain.

 

I’m not trying to go all “Deliverance” on anyone, so don’t cue the banjos just yet. I just wanted to turn a family memory into something tactile. And I won’t even pretend I came up with this idea, but I did do the earrings on my own. I had some spare parts from a while back when I used to make some jewellery for some friends.

The last thing I made today was a necklace with the washers and about 1.5 yds of 5/8″ ribbed ribbon. I tried to get a photo diagram of the way to weave the ribbon, but it just wasn’t coming together right. So if you have any interest in trying it let me know… Here is the finished product:

I wore this one out on a sisterly shopping trip and I’ve got to say: I LOVE IT! I’m going to make a few more in different colors! Eeeeeek!

I’m happy. It’s been a good weekend so far. Maybe tomorrow I’ll get to go have some Graeter’s Black Raspberry Chip Ice Cream… That would make it PERFECT. =)

To end this lovely day of  bullets and hardware I think I’ll leave you with a serenade from a purposely androgynous group from the UK. La Roux means the Red in French, but it is a hybrid of the feminine and masculine versions. Happy listening my loves…

5 responses to “[Bullet]proof

Leave a Reply

