The Spice of Life

So I’m sitting here, enjoying a cup of my delicious Twinning’s tea, with sugar and milk, and revelling in a lovely sunday morning. Yesterday, I took a trip to a nice little farmer’s market in St Matthews, hosted by Beargrass Christian Church, in order to be inspired to do something with my new canning book that one of my delightful co-workers brought me. I found some awesome organically grown fruits and veggies and all the colors were so pretty that they were just begging to be chopped up and mixed together! I decided on a classic veggie salsa. You know, just your standard, with tomatoes, onion, bell and jalapeno peppers. So here is what I brought home:

Here’s is the recipe that came in my Ball preserving book:

7c chopped, cored, & peeled tomatoes
2c coarsely chopped onion
1c coarsely chopped green bell pepper
8 chopped, seeded jalapeno peppers [I only had 4, so I left all of the seeds in to avoid bland salsa]
3 cloves garlic
1 5.5 6 oz can tomato paste
3/4c white vinegar
1/2c loosely packed, finely chopped cilantro
1/2tsp ground cumin
In large stainless steel saucepan, combine tomatoes, onions, green peppers, jalapeno peppers, garlic, tomato paste, vinegar, cilantro, and cumin. Bring to a boil over medium high heat, stirring constantly. Reduce heat  and boil gently, stirring frequently until thickened, about 30 minutes.

I won’t bore you with the details of the canning process. I will say, however, that my new preoccupation with all things in the kitchen may be the death of me. First there was my near death incident with the butcher’s knife, and now I only have 3 fingers to type this with, as the other 7 are blistered.

My name is Barbara. I'm a 50-year-old smoker, and this is NOT my first rodeo. - Taura Schmitz

I’m now a seasoned farmer’s market pro. I’ve been here and done it all, so don’t you try to give me the run around. haha 

I’m off to make some preparations so that I can enjoy the 4th of  July with my family. Due to the fact that Mama Ballew didn’t enjoy the musical accompaniment from the last post, here is a new one. I love this man and his new album Mission Bell is great!

2 responses to “The Spice of Life

  1. full of food knowledge “and” ever so funny. 🙂 Quick fyi…Valley Highschool has a farmer’s market every Saturday morning if you are looking for a closer jaunt.

Leave a Reply

