Jello and Workboots.

Hello there, strangers! It seems that It has been over a month since last I posted! Please allow me to explain: I was having a lot of trouble focusing on anything in the last week or week and a half before I left on my journey abroad. And then, of course, there was the trip itself (about which I am being purposefully aloof until I document it for you in full detail). Now I have been back a full week and tonight I decided to just bundle up lots of stuff so that I make up for my absence!

So this morning at breakfast, I was reminded about the importance of being mindful about what you put into your body. I did so well for about 8 months and then I just kind of regressed into some old habits. But breakfast today was my wake up call, so to speak. My evening started with a super yummy dinner, for which I have no recipe. I just kind of threw it together, but it turned out so well!

I sliced a plain chicken breast into medallions about 1/4″ thick and cooked them with yellow onion, rosemary, basil, crushed red pepper, and a splash of organic peanut oil.


I seared the chicken initially and then added about 1 1/4c. chicken stock to the pan and let it simmer until I had a nice moist chicken breast, with no sauce.

To eat with my chicken breast I made a basic spicy marinara sauce including tomato sauce, stewed tomatoes, crushed red pepper, oregano, jalapeno, and the caramelized onions from the chicken medallions, and then I added some fat-free feta cheese.




I place some of the sauce on some whole wheat, organic linguine and added some fresh chopped parsley for color and then can you believe that I completely FORGOT to take a picture of the plated meal?!

Okay, so to amend that failure, I will go ahead and do a show-and-tell of my other project for the evening! I found a recipe for a Strawberry-Kiwi jam in an old issue of BH&G that I’ve been meaning to try for 7 or 8 weeks now, but following the blade related catastrophe that occurred when I was cooking my dirty rice, I decided I would avoid knive-necessary cooking until after my vacation.

So here is the recipe!

3c. fresh strawberries, hulled and quartered
3 medium fresh kiwifruit, peeled and chopped
1.75 oz powdered fruit pectin
1 T finely chopped crystallized ginger (a seasoning sized bottle of which cost me $8.12!)
1 T butter
1 T lemon juice
1 tsp finely shredded orange peel (I used a zester)
dash salt
5c. sugar

1. In a medium bowl, slightly mash strawberries. In a Dutch oven, combine strawberries, kiwi, pectin, ginger, butter, lemon juice, orange peel, and salt. Heat on medium high, stirring constantly, until mixture comes to a full rolling boil.

2. Add sugar. Return to boil. Allow to boil for 1 minute, stirring constantly. Remove from heat, use metal spoon to scrap off foam. (I didn’t have any foam.)

3. Ladle jam in to hot, sterile, half-pint canning jars, leaving 1/4″ head space. Wipe off rims of jars; adjust lids. Process in a boiling water canner (which I don’t have, so I used boiling water in a deep frying pan) for 5 minutes. Remove jars; cool on racks.


I only had 4 jars so that is all I made but the recipe said it should make about 6. Since I had some extra, I decided to enjoy this lovely, summery jam on some whole wheat toast with a couple of wonderful house guests!


All in all, a gorgeous night, with good people, and a yummy treat! Now I just get to eat what I couldn’t can every day for the next month or so! Also I didn’t quite follow the instructions in only one way…. I put my strawberries and kiwis through my food processor, due to the fact that I HATE having huge chunks in my jam. Now its bed time, but I want to leave you with this:

4 responses to “Jello and Workboots.

  1. so the next time I ride pass your house I think I should STOP as there is no telling what wonderful yumminess is behind that door!!!! YOU GO GIRL!!!!

Leave a Reply

