Stuck in My Ambiguity

Okay, so, of course, today I’ve been hearing/reading all about the death of Osama bin Laden. 

 Here’s where I’m feeling a bit indeterminate: The victory over bin Laden is NOT the defeat of terrorism. It is not the end of this war. It is not an excuse for a mid-week bender. It is not the fix-all-bandage for the families of 9/11 and the families of the service men/women lost in Afghanistan/Iraq. 

The death of bin Laden will not crumble al-Qaeda. If anything, it has created a leadership vacuum that is going to result in a surge of terrorist activity. It has also invigorated an entire group of people with a renewed sense of hatred and sent them racing for reprisal. The surge in activity in the Middle East will mean that the troops will not be soon in returning home.

Please, don’t think I’m saying that we [meaning the Armed Forces] shouldn’t have gotten him. It’s war. People die. What I’m saying is that this is not an occasion for lighthearted comedy and Facebook posting.

Let me start on the half-witted, imbecilic Facebook posts today: It really makes me angry to read this thought-deficient trash that makes light of serious events. I actually wanted to copy some of them on here, but I’m not going to do that. Hear this, though: I am talking about YOUR post, whether you care or not. 

I stole this quote from one, Ms. Kelli Thornberry:
I mourn the loss of thousands of precious lives, but I will not rejoice in the death of one, not even an enemy. Returning hate for hate multiplies hate, adding deeper darkness to a night already devoid of stars. Darkness cannot drive out darkness: only light can do that. Hate cannot drive out hate: only love can do that.”-Martin Luther King, Jr

The death of Osama bin Laden has not eased the wounds I feel of those lost in this war. It has not brought fathers, mothers, sons, daughters, brothers, sisters or friends back from the grave. It will not dry the tears that have been shed or ease the hurt of those who feel they have lost all that matters to them.

Please let me say this, I support our troops 100%. They make sacrifices that I cannot imagine and I have NOTHING but respect for the path they have chosen. I support standing up for people who cannot defend themselves. I didn’t mean for this post to seem anti-patriotic. I am proud of our military, especially our AMAZING Navy. I do not, however, want the hate to be multiplied any further, so I am letting my hate go. Do with yours what you please.

One response to “Stuck in My Ambiguity

  1. You are correct, OBL’s death does not bring back people who have lost their lives, or heal wounds that were caused by his attack on American soil, however you must understand that justice has been served, and that is how we must look at his death. The death of a non-Christian is certainly no time to rejoice, but you must understand the peace that OBL’s death brings to the people who have lost loved ones because of his actions. As far as the troops go, since I have been one and am married to one who is currently fighting in Afghanistan, his death may be a slight moral booster, but it changes nothing. And yes, the Navy is great, but lets not forget the main fighting forces over there are the Marines and the Army. =)
    Great post!

Leave a Reply

