My Cinna-night

Stuck inside, yet again, I’ve been super bored tonight. I took some time to peruse my new issue of BH&G and go for a drive with Howard and my sister. This, however, is what I truly accomplished this evening…

Delicious.
Buttermilk.
Whole Wheat.
Cinnamon Rolls.

2 (.25 ounce) packages active dry yeast
1/4 cup warm water (110 degrees F/45 degrees C)
1 1/2 cups buttermilk
1/2 cup vegetable oil
4 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 cup butter, melted
1 1/4 cups brown sugar
1 1/2 teaspoons ground cinnamon

In a large bowl, dissolve yeast in warm water. Let stand until creamy, about 10 minutes. In a small saucepan, heat the buttermilk until warm to the touch

Pour the buttermilk and oil into the yeast mixture; mix well. Combine the flour, salt and baking soda. Stir the flour mixture into the liquid 1 cup at a time, until a soft dough forms. Turn dough out onto a lightly floured surface and knead 20 times. Cover and let rest for 15 minutes.

In a small bowl, stir together the butter, brown sugar and cinnamon.

On a lightly floured surface, roll dough out into a large rectangle. Spread the brown sugar and butter mixture over the dough…(I also added walnuts on half of it)…..

 roll up into a log and pinch the seem to seal…..

 Slice into 1 inch pieces and place cut side up in a lightly greased 10×15 baking pan.

Cover and let rise 30 minutes. If baking immediately, pre-heat oven to 400 degrees F
Bake in preheated oven for 20 to 25 minutes, until golden brown. Let stand for 2 to 3 minutes before serving.

Oh goodness, gracious… these are sooooooo good! This was my first attempt, and my only correction to the recipe is this: in my oven at 400* 20 minutes was too long. Next time I will bake for 20 minutes at 375* and see how that works out. This is a really good one that you all NEED to try!

In other news, I’ve thoroughly fallen in love with the musical group Band of Horses. I won’t tell you to run out and buy all of their music, [but you should], but I am gonna share a song of theirs with you.

You all have a good night, I need to go take care of the last few dishes, and grab a shower before bed. ❤

Leave a Reply

