Hard-Place Potato Soup

So, on this blissfully stormy Tuesday, I decided to have my daddy over for dinner since my mom and sister both had dinner plans already. I was stuck between a rock and a hard place as far as what I was going to make. My rock being a new recipe for jambalaya that I found over the weekend and my hard place being a recipe I found for spicy potato soup with italian sausage and kale. After thoughtful consideration of my papa’s sensitive GI tract, I decided on my hard-place potato soup. I was really nervous about it because the recipe didn’t really seem to make sense. Here is the recipe:

1 lb ground Italian sausage
3/4 tsp crushed red pepper
1 large diced white onion
4 Tbsp bacon pieces
2 tsp garlic puree [I used garlic powder for lack of garlic cloves]
8 cups water
5 cubes of chicken bouillon
1 cup heavy cream
1 lb sliced Russet potatoes, or about 3 large potatoes
¼ of a bunch of kale [I used about 2 cups after being chopped]
1/2 tsp. salt or to taste

1. Sauté Italian sausage and crushed red pepper in a large pot. Drain excess fat, refrigerate while you prepare other ingredients.

2. In the same pan, sauté bacon, onions and garlic over low-medium heat for approximately 15 mins. or until the onions are soft.

3. Add chicken bouillon and water to the pot and heat until it starts to boil.
4. Add the sliced potatoes and cook until soft, about half an hour.
5. Stir in the sausage and the kale.

6. Add the heavy cream and just cook until thoroughly heated, and serve. Delicious!

I’ve got to be honest and say that I’m more fond of soups and stews than most, but this is one of the best I’ve ever made!
         So as delicious as the soup was, I knew before I even started cooking that Daddy would want dessert, and since I don’t keep sweets in the house I decided to bake something yummy. I pilfered this amazingly simple and delicious recipe  for whole wheat banana nut muffins from one, Mrs. Ambro Wright.

Kudos for the heavenly muffins, perfect ending to any day!

2 responses to “Hard-Place Potato Soup

Leave a Reply

