Upcycled Men’s Dress Shirt

Right now I’m laying in bed, eating a lovely spinach and artichoke hummus. It’s been a very exhausting week and these alteration projects are taking A LOT more time and energy than I was expecting. For each alteration that I decide to make I have to spend an hour or more researching different techniques. After that,  it takes two, three, four or more attempts to get it any where near acceptable.

I’ll tell you what. I follow 49 dresses, Marisa Lynch, and Jillian Owens religiously and these girls make it look like a freakin’ breeze. Oh Marisa, how I loathe the day that I stumbled upon your blog! I am now determined to be able to make my horrible Goodwill finds look incredible, and it appears as though I will spend the rest of my life figuring this tedious, mind numbing stuff out. Ughhhhhh!

So, I’m sparing you guys the ugly… monotonous… details. I bought this men’s dress shirt at goodwill for a few dollars. It was long enough to be a slutty dress-tent hybrid, and the sleeves hung about 6 inches past my wrist.

Anyone want to have a circus under this big top?

I didn’t catalog every step, mostly because I don’t want any of you to see the up close details. So I’ll just give you the no-visual-aid-included rundown. I:

-used my seam ripper to detach the sleeves
-took the sides in ~1.25″ on each side to equal about 5″ total
-used my rotary cutter and a pattern to deepen the cut of the arm holes to make the shirt more of a tank
-added darts to reduce the sleeve gapping
-trimmed the sleeve hems with a white fabric in a quilt-style binding

The darts took me no less than 4 attempts and they still aren’t even. I’m not stressing over it though. Here is the finished product:

Reminiscent of 50′s house wife?

I’ve got a couple more projects in the works, both sewing and non. If you have any interesting ideas… pass them along! as for now, I’m addicted.

2 responses to “Upcycled Men’s Dress Shirt

  1. I wish I could make things like this! I have lost my desire to be creative, I think. I bought tons of yarn way back when I found out I was pregnant so I could make a cute little baby blanket, and I still haven’t even started on it. Now I’m thinking that since I’m only 3 weeks from finding out the gender, I might as well wait until then before starting. Haha. And I suck at using my sewing machine. I just can’t seem to get my lines straight. I’m sure I will try again sometime, though! James has some pants that need hemming.
    I love your shirt, though! I don’t know what it was ‘supposed’ to look like, but it seems to have turned out just fine to me :)

    • Haha I don’t know exactly what I was expecting… maybe to look 30lbs smaller?

      You’ll have to let me know about the baby gender… I might have to dabble in baby quilts!

Leave a Reply

